St Teresa's EYFS follows the statutory EYFS framework.  Alongside this, we use the revised Development Matters and Birth to 5 documents to support children’s learning and development.

There are seven areas of learning, all of which are equally important and inter-connected. The areas of learning are delivered through a balance of adult led and child-initiated activities.

The three PRIME AREAS are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication & Language

There are also four specific areas which include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.

The four SPECIFIC AREAS are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

In addition to the areas of learning, we strive for our children to develop the Characteristics of Effective Learning which will enable them to become learners for life.

Playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’

Active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements

Creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.

EYFS Curriculum

Updated: 02/06/2023 260 KB

EYFS Documents

Updated: 02/06/2023 177 KB


Updated: 02/06/2023 184 KB
Updated: 02/06/2023 195 KB
Updated: 02/06/2023 162 KB
Updated: 02/06/2023 123 KB
Updated: 02/06/2023 148 KB
Updated: 02/06/2023 198 KB


Updated: 02/06/2023 143 KB
Updated: 02/06/2023 110 KB